Connect with us


Maharashtra Assembly passes resolution on border dispute, CM Shinde says 865 villages in Karnataka will be included




The Maharashtra government on Tuesday moved a resolution in the Assembly on the border dispute with Karnataka, which was passed unanimously. The proposal states that the government will take steps to include land of 865 villages along with Belgaum, Karwar, Nipani towns of Karnataka in Maharashtra keeping in view all necessary legal aspects.

According to the resolution, the Maharashtra government will stand with full force with the people living in the village of the border dispute. The Maharashtra government told the assembly that the proposal will soon be sent to the central government.

Maharashtra CM Eknath Shinde, while reading out the resolution, said that the central government should urge the Karnataka government to implement the decision taken in the meeting with the Union Home Minister and convince the government to guarantee the safety of Marathi people in the border areas.

The Karnataka Assembly on Thursday unanimously passed a resolution on the border dispute to protect the interests of the state. The BJP is in power in both Karnataka and Maharashtra, in Maharashtra the BJP is in alliance with the Shinde-led faction of the Shiv Sena. Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis had assured the House from the BJP that we will fight for even an inch. We will do whatever we can for justice to the Marathi-speaking population in Karnataka.

Let us tell you that the issue of border has been there since 1957 after the reorganization of the two states on linguistic grounds. Maharashtra claims Belagavi, which was part of the then Bombay Presidency, as it has a large number of Marathi-speaking people. Maharashtra has also staked claim to 814 Marathi-speaking villages which are currently part of the southern state.

Contact for Advertisement

Latest News=

Advertisement Contact for Advertisement